In MS Access you can’t update a table from a read only query

It’s possible that this is caused by the archaic version of Access I’m using (2002) but this query, which would normally work doesn’t if you join it with a read only query. This would make sense if I was trying to update the query values, but all I want to do is update the table from the query. Apparently access can’t handle that.

UPDATE Big INNER JOIN Bot ON Big.PART = Bot.PART
SET Bot.MFG = [Big].[MFG];

A good way to create a read only query:
select left(colum,7) as FirstSevenChars from SomeTable

I’m working with a bunch of non normalized tables and they sometimes use sql like this to join tables. So part of a unique field is the key to another table. Needless to say it’s a terrible mess. Really, normalization is a good thing: Wiki Normalization.

  1. #1 by sound system on April 16, 2013 - 11:41 am

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you provide here.

    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

    • #2 by Anthony on April 16, 2013 - 1:01 pm

      Not at all. Go ahead and quote my articles. My only request is that you provide a link back to the original on my site in your article whenever you do this.

Leave a Reply

